State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department

Important Dates

Monthly

  • Medical Discount Plans – License renewal due One year from the issue date
  • Producers (Individuals) – Renewal Notices mailed 60 days prior to birth month, biennial renewal through National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR)

April 1, 2018

  • Accredited Reinsurers – Filings and Management Discussion and Analysis due
  • Captive insurance companies renewal licenses and renewal license fees sent out
  • Licensed Companies (domestic & foreign) – Filings and Management Discussion and Analysis due
  • Life Settlement Brokers – Annual Renewal due 60 days prior to the expiration date. License expires April 1 YEARLY
  • Life Settlement Providers – Annual Activity Report due to Life and Health Division. License expires April 1 YEARLY
  • Quarterly Company Appointments – Invoices mailed to insurers
  • Quarterly Update of List of Licensed Companies includes insurers, reinsurers, surplus lines insurers – prepared by Financial Regulation Division
  • Quarterly Update of List of Risk Retention Group and Risk Purchasing Groups – prepared by Captive Division
  • Surplus Lines Insurers – Filings and Management Discussion and Analysis due

April 10, 2018

April 30, 2018

  • Public Adjuster – Renewals due April 30 every EVEN year

May 1, 2018

  • Annual Filing for Network Adequacy (Public Act 16-205) – Report to Commissioner due
  • Annual Filing of Formularies (§38a-591(e) of the 2016 Supplement to and Sections §38a-481 and §38a-513 of C.G.S.) – Report to Commissioner due
  • Exam Review Committee Meetings – Meetings to review licensee examinations with exam vendor, Department and industry representatives
  • Licensed Companies – Quarterly Producer Appointment Returns and Fees due
  • Managed Care Organization – Part 1 of the Survey is due to the Life & Health Division (§38a-478c)
  • Premium Finance Company – Annual renewal notices mailed by Department 60 days prior to the expiration date, license expires July 1st annually
  • Preferred Provider Networks – License renewal due by May 1st annually

May 15, 2018

  • Accredited Reinsurers – Quarterly Financial Reports Filing for period ending March 31 due
  • Licensed Companies (domestic & foreign) – Quarterly Financial Reports Filing for Period ending March 31 due
  • Risk Retention Groups – Quarterly Financial Reports Filing for period ending March 31 due
  • Surplus Lines – Quarterly Returns and Fees due for policy period January 1 to March 31 through Online Premium Tax For Insurance (OPTINS)
  • Surplus Lines Insurers – Quarterly Financial Reports Filing for Period ending March 31 due
  • Surplus Lines Insurers – SL-6 Filings due

May 31, 2018

  • Medicare Supplement Refund Calculation (Reg. of CT State Agencies §38a-495a-10(b))

June 1, 2018

  • Accredited Reinsurers – Audit report filings due
  • Captive Insurers – Audit report filings due (or 5 months after fiscal year end)
  • Commercial Risk Report – Due to Property & Casualty Division (CSG §38a-696)
  • Licensed Companies (domestic & foreign) – Audit report filings due
  • Licensed Companies (domestic & foreign) – Holding company reports registration filing due (CGS §38a-135(a))
  • Risk Retention Groups – Audit report filings due
  • Surplus Lines Insurers – Audit report filings due

June 30, 2018

  • Annual Loss Ratio Report for Specified Disease (Reg. of CT State Agencies §38a-505-13(b)(12) & §38a-513-1(b)(12))
  • Long Term Care Reports (Reg. of CT State Agencies §38a-501-23 & §38a-528-16)
  • Motor Vehicle Property Damage Appraisers (MVPD) – Renewals due June 30 every ODD year
  • Premium Finance Companies – Renewals due June 30 YEARLY
  • Property & Casualty Adjusters – Renewals due June 30 every ODD year

July 1, 2018

  • Managed Care Organizations – Part 2 of the Survey (includes HEDIS data) is due to the Life & Health Division (§38a-478c)
  • Quarterly Company Appointments – Invoices mailed to insurers
  • Quarterly Update of List of Licensed Companies includes insurers, reinsurers, surplus lines insurers – prepared by Financial Regulation Division
  • Quarterly Update of List of Risk Retention Group and Risk Purchasing Groups – prepared by Captive Division

July 10, 2018


August 1, 2018

  • Licensed Companies – Quarterly Producer Appointment Returns and Fees due

August 15, 2018

  • Accredited Reinsurers – Quarterly Financial Reports Filing for Period ending June 30 due
  • Licensed Companies (domestic & foreign) – Quarterly Financial Reports Filing for Period ending June 30 due
  • Risk Retention Groups – Quarterly Financial Reports Filing for Period ending June 30 due
  • Surplus Lines – Quarterly Returns and Fees due for policy period April 1 to June 30 through Online Premium Tax For Insurance (OPTINS)
  • Surplus Lines Insurers – Quarterly Financial Reports Filing for Period ending June 30 due

September 30, 2018

  • Certified Insurance Consultants – Renewals due September 30 every ODD year
  • Surplus Lines Brokers – Renewals due September 30 every EVEN year
  • TPA License & Registration – License expires September 30 YEARLY

October 1, 2018

  • Quarterly Company Appointments – Invoices mailed to insurers
  • Quarterly Update of List of Licensed Companies includes insurers, reinsurers, surplus lines insurers – prepared by Financial Regulation Division
  • Quarterly Update of List of Risk Retention Group and Risk Purchasing Groups – prepared by Captive Division
  • Utilization Review Companies – License Renewals due to Life & Health Division, license expires January 1 YEARLY

October 10, 2018

October 15, 2018

  • Annual Accident and Health Ranking Reports – Report published by Consumer Affairs Division
  • Annual Automobile Ranking Reports – Report published by Consumer Affairs Division

November 1, 2018

  • Licensed Companies – Quarterly Producer Appointment Returns and Fees due

November 15, 2018

  • Accredited Reinsurers – Quarterly Financial Reports Filing for period ending September 30 due
  • Licensed Companies (domestic & foreign) – Quarterly Financial Reports Filing for Period ending September 30 due
  • Risk Retention Groups – Quarterly Financial Reports Filing for period ending September 30 due
  • Surplus Lines – Quarterly Returns and Fees due for policy period July 1 to September 30 through Online Premium Tax For Insurance (OPTINS)

December 1, 2018

  • Retaliatory Guide – Updated

December 31, 2018

  • Fraternal Agents – License Renewal Due December 31 every ODD year
  • Pharmacy Benefit Managers (PBM) – Registration expires December 31 YEARLY
  • Reinsurance Intermediary Brokers – Expire December 31 every EVEN year
  • Reinsurance Intermediary Managers – Expire December 31 every EVEN year

January 1, 2019

  • Quarterly Company Appointments – Invoices mailed to insurers
  • Quarterly Update of List of Licensed Companies includes insurers, reinsurers, surplus lines insurers – prepared by Financial Regulation Division
  • Quarterly Update of List of Risk Retention Group and Risk Purchasing Groups – prepared by Captive Division

January 10, 2019

January 31, 2019

  • Portable Electronics License – License Renewals e-mailed out by Department, license expires January 31 every EVEN year
  • Producers (Business Entities) – License Renewals e-mailed out by Department, license expires January 31 every EVEN year. Renewal available through National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR)
  • Rental Car Permit – Expiration date January 31 every EVEN year
  • Surety Bail Bond Agents – License Renewals e-mailed out by Department, license expires January 31 every EVEN year
  • Annual Certification for Health Insurance Carriers Administering Plans for Professional Employer Organizations PEO (Bulletin HC-61)

February 1, 2019

  • Licensed Companies – Quarterly Producer Appointment Returns and Fees due
  • Public Adjuster – Renewal notices mailed 60 days prior to the expiration date. License expires April 1 every year

February 15, 2019

  • Professional Liability Medical Malpractice ANNUAL PREMIUM DATA DUE – Due to Property & Casualty Division Medical Malpractice Data ONLINE Report
  • Licensed Companies (domestic & foreign) – Quarterly Financial Reports Filing for Period ending December 31 due
  • Surplus Lines – Quarterly Returns and Fees due for policy period October 1 to December 31 through Online Premium Tax For Insurance (OPTINS)

March 1, 2019

  • Accredited Reinsurers – Annual Statement Filing , Actuarial Opinion, List of Ceding Insurers and Trust Certificates due
  • Captive Insurers (Association, Branch, RRG, Special Purpose Financial, Sponsored) – Annual filings and actuarial opinion due (or 60 days after fiscal year end)
  • Certification of compliance for specified disease and limited benefit offerings (CT Gen. Stat. §38a-476(a))
  • Domestic & Foreign Licensed Insurers – Annual filings and actuarial opinion due
  • Medicare Supplement Reporting (Reg. of CT State Agencies §38a-495a, App. B)
  • Private Passenger Auto Policy Annual Policy Counts – Due to Property & Casualty Division - (CGS §38a-350)
  • Professional Liability Cancellation and Non-Renewal Report – Due to Property & Casualty Division - (CGS §38a-393)
  • Professional Liability Medical Malpractice ANNUAL PREMIUM Report – Due to the Property & Casualty Division
  • Risk Retention Groups – Annual filings and actuarial opinion due
  • Surplus Lines Insurers – Annual filings, actuarial opinion and SL-10 due

March 15, 2019

  • Captive Insurers (Industrial Insured, Pure) – Annual Filings and actuarial opinion (or 75 days after fiscal year end)
  • Captive Insurers (Dormant) – Annual Filings (or 75 days after fiscal year end)

March 31, 2019

  • Company Fraud Report due by March 31 annually utilizing the online reporting portal: Fraud Report Online Portal
  • Professional Liability Medical Malpractice DATA DUE – Any add, update or delete a record AFTER MARCH 31st need to request via e-mail to Property & Casualty Division






Connecticut Insurance Department
Contact Us
Have a Question or Complaint?